Skip to main content
Main Content

The Thomas Ashley Graves, Jr. Award for Sustained Excellence in Teaching is presented annually to the William & Mary professor that displays a strong commitment to the education of students and service to William & Mary. The award is named after Thomas Ashley Graves, Jr., the 23rd president of William & Mary. It is endowed by alumni and friends of the former president. The recipient of the award is chosen by the president of the College from nominations submitted by each of the academic deans.

Thomas Ashley Graves, Jr. Award for Sustained Excellence in Teaching Recipients


2008 - Deborah D. Morse, Professor (Faculty of Arts and Sciences, Department of English)

2009 - Thomas L. Heacox, Associate Professor (Faculty of Arts and Sciences, Department of English

2010 - Kathleen Slevin, Professor(Faculty of Arts and Sciences, Department of Sociology)

2011 - John Philip Kearns, Associate Professor (Faculty of Arts and Sciences, Department of Computer Science)

2011 - Lawrence King, Chancellor and EMBA Alumni Professor of Business (School of Business)

2012 - Nancy L. Gray, Associate Professor of English and Women's Studies

2013 - Lawrence Leemis, Mathematics professor and School of Education's Megan Tschannen-Moran

2014 - Elizabeth Canuel, Virginia Institute of Marine Science and School of Education's John Noell Moore

2015 - Jonathan F. Arries, Associate Professor of Hispanic Studies and William T. Geary, Associate Professor of Accounting

2016 - Philip H. Daileader, Associate Professor of History and John E. Graves, Chancellor Professor of Marine Science

2017 - Beverly T. Sher, Senior Lecturer and Chief Health Professional Advisor and Elizabeth L. Barnes Professor of English and American Studies

2018 - Randolph A. Coleman, Professor of Chemistry and Paul Marcus, Haynes Professor of Law

2019 - Susan Donaldson, Professor of English and American Studies and Lynda L. Butler, Chancellor Professor of Law

2020 - Lizabeth Allison, Chancellor Professor of Biology, and Christopher R. Gareis, Professor of Educational Planning, Policy & Leadership in the School of Education

2021 - Robert J. Latour, Professor of Fisheries Science and Judith B. Harris, Professor and Pavey Family Chair in Educational Technology

2022 - Eric A. Kades, Thomas Jefferson Professor of Law and Qian Su, Senior Lecturer of Chinese Studies

Material in the Special Collections Research Center

References in the The Flat Hat, William & Mary News, and Alumni Gazette:

  • First award given to Lewis W. Leadbeater AG, June 1986, pg. 1, 17.
  • Awarded to John F. Lavach WMN 5/20/1987, pg. 1, 3 (picture).
  • Awarded to John Lavach AG, June 1987, pg. 1, 11 (picture).
  • John E. Donaldson is recipient of Graves Award WMN, 5/19/1988, pg. 8.
  • Ludwell Johnson wins Graves Award WMN, 5/20/1992, pg. 6 (picture).
  • David L. Holmes, Jr. wins Graves award WMN, 5/19/1993, pg. 5.
  • David L. Holmes receives award AG, May/June 1993, pg. 2 (picture).
  • Awarded to Carl Carlson WMN, 5/19/1994, pg. 5, 6 (picture).
  • Law school graduation features variety of award presentations WMN, 5/19/1994, pg. 9.
  • Awarded to Carl E. Carlson AG, June 1994, pg. 1, 5 (picture).
  • Elsa Nettels receives award WMN, 5/16/1996, pg. 5 (picture).
  • James Smith receives award WMN, 5/27/1999, pg. 7 (picture).


Want to find out more?

To search for further material, visit the Special Collections Research Center's Search Tool List for other resources to help you find materials of interest.

Questions? Have ideas or updates for articles you'd like to see? Contact the Special Collections Research Center at or 757-221-3090.

A note about the contents of this site

This website contains the best available information from known sources at the time it was written. Unfortunately, many of the early original records of William & Mary were destroyed by fires, military occupation, and the normal effects of time. The information in this website is not complete, and it changes as we continue to research and uncover new sources.