Skip to main content
Main Content

The St. George Tucker Award, created in 1995, is given each year to a member of the Marshall-Wythe School of Law adjunct faculty for outstanding service.

St. George Tucker was the second professor of law at William & Mary and a pioneer in legal education. He drafted a formal description of the requirements for a law degree at the College, which included an exacting schedule of qualifying examinations in history, government and related pre-law subjects. Tucker's course material was published as the first American edition of Blackstone's Commentaries on the Laws of England. For a generation, Tucker's volume was considered the leading authority on American law.

The St. George Tucker Award Recipients

incomplete list: no mention of the award in The Advocate or Flat Hat in the period 2004-2006

1995-2005 ?

2005-2006 Elizabeth M. Schmidt and Christie S. Warren

2006-2007 Wilford Taylor, Jr., J.D. '78

2007-2008 Judge Wilford Taylor, Jr.

2008-2009 Jeffrey Breit

2009-2010 Neal J. Robinson

2010-2011 John Tarley, Jr., class of 1992



Want to find out more?

To search for further material, visit the Special Collections Research Center's Search Tool List for other resources to help you find materials of interest.

Questions? Have ideas or updates for articles you'd like to see? Contact the Special Collections Research Center at or 757-221-3090.

A note about the contents of this site

This website contains the best available information from known sources at the time it was written. Unfortunately, many of the early original records of William & Mary were destroyed by fires, military occupation, and the normal effects of time. The information in this website is not complete, and it changes as we continue to research and uncover new sources.